Lancome AUDA[CITY] in Paris Palette: Review, Pics & Swatches!

Audacity in Paris

Purchased by me

 

NOTE: This post was written before the horrific terrorist events of 11/13. I would like to express my condolences for all the victims and their families.

First I have to apologize for being so late with this review. For some silly reason when it launched back in August, I thought it was another nude palette and wasn’t interested. It wasn’t until recently I realized the glory of this rainbow of color. I have been wearing Lancôme cosmetics for years and I love where the brand is heading. It seems every new launch gets better and better. If you have previously thought of Lancôme as a more “mature” brand, DON’T–they are keeping up with the times and the trends and the AUDA[CITY] in Paris palette is a great example.

Lancôme’s first multi-palette, AUDA[CITY] in PARIS ($68) offers 16 beautiful shades in matte, shimmer, and metallic finishes that let you bring the feel of Paris wherever you go. Create a daytime eye look, a bold look for the evening, or anything that falls in between. The palette comes in sleek, mirrored compact with a dual-ended brush.

2015-11-10 00.56.01 (480x320)

This eye palette designed by Lancôme Global Makeup Creative Director Lisa Eldridge features 16 shades, ranging from nude neutrals to deep purples and is inspired by the streets of Paris. Lancôme’s artistry-inspired packaging is made for us beauty junkies. There is a massive mirror emblazoned with the Paris cityscape so you have Paris with you wherever you go! The palette and packaging are truly stunning!

2015-11-10 01.03.56 (480x320)This palette contains:

  • Filigree (Light Gold Shimmer)
  • Choquette (Peach Matte)
  • Parfait (Light Pink Matte)
  • Kitten Heel (Gold Copper Shimmer)
  • Joie (Golden-Bronze Shimmer)
  • Voyage (Muted Purple Matte)
  • Sante (Brown Matte)
  • Tenacity (Purple Metallic)
  • Exhibition (Orchid Shimmer)
  • Zip Me Up (Deep Purple Shimmer)
  • Volcano (Silvery Gray Shimmer)
  • Clock Strikes 12 (Gray Metallic)
  • Audacious (Smokey Brown Shimmer)
  • Couture (Dark Brown Matte)
  • It List (Black Matte)
  • Nuit (Black Metallic)
    Dual-ended brush

AUDA[CITY] in Paris has a lovely mix of cool and warm shades in matte, satin and shimmer finishes. The color combination is beauitful and contains all the basics plus some unique shades– all of them highly wearable. The eyeshadows are grouped into four shade harmonies: Good Morning Paris (Filigree, Chouquette, Parfait and Kitten Heel), Ride & Promenade (Joie, Voyage, Sante and Tenacity) Unexpected Rendez-vous, (Exhibition Zip Me Up, Volcano and Clock Strikes 12) and Nuit Parisienne (Audacious, Couture, “It List” and Nuit). This makes creating a coordinated look a no-brainer!

L to R: Filigree, Chouquette. Parfait, Joie, Kitten Heel

L to R: Filigree, Chouquette. Parfait, Joie, Kitten Heel

L to R: Voyage, Sante, Ex

L to R: Sante, Exhibiton, Zip Me Up, Volcano, Tenacity

L to R:

L to R: Volcano, Audacious, Couture, It List, Clock Strikes 12, Nuit

I do suggest wearing a primer with these shadows but then I wear an eyeshadow primer everyday with everything. I got very nice wear with the palette–a good 8-10 hours with no fallout. Pigmentation is good and the shadows do not cling to my eye creases.

Some of the shades in the palette are in the permanent line, most notably Kitten Heel, a bestseller and Filigree that I have in another palette. My favorite shades are Filigree, a pale shimmery yellow gold, Parfait, a matte pale pink, Joie, a beautiful shimmery golden taupe, Exhibition, described as orchid shimmer, but I consider it a satin orchid and Zip Me Up, a gorgeous shimmery deep purple. I love all the shades on the bottom row: Kitten Heel, a shimmery peachy gold, Tenacity, a taupey lavendar metallic, Clock Strikes 12, a gray metallic and Nuit, a black metallic with a blue undertone. Each of these are complex and are almost duochrome in the sense that they have undertones and can change color in different light. You can see I am really enjoying this palette!

2015-11-10 01.05.51

For this look I used Parfait under the brow bone, Tenacity on the lid, Zip Me Up on the lid, Nuit to line and Joie on the inner corners.

PicMonkey Collage


Lancôme AUDA[CITY] in Paris is a palette I will reach for daily because it has such a good range of colors and is easy-peasy to create polished and sophisticated eye looks. The mix of finishes makes the palette even more versatile taking from work to drinks easily.

I like that Lancôme included a dual sided brush but truth be told, I am kind of on the fence about it. The blending end is super but the flat end seems very stiff to me and I blame it for the slight powder kickup I got on a few of the matte shades. I would have liked something softer.

2015-11-01 02.54.12

2015-11-01 02.53.51

Bottom Line: as an admitted Francophile, Lancôme’s AUDA[CITY] in Paris does not disappoint. It’s a beautiful, neutral and elegant addition to any over 40 woman’s beauty arsenal. Even though this palette is on the pricey side, it’s worth every penny for the versatility and quality. I suggest grabbing it online at the Sephora.com sale and get 20% off!

From our partners

Comments

  1. Look at all those pretty colors. Perfect for makeup wearers.

  2. Allison @neversaydiebeauty says

    Such an appealing palette. Love the figures on the mirror. And the shades remind me of Monet Waterlilies

  3. TinaBowling says

    I just love that top row of swatches. I’m all about the shimmer shadows!

  4. I really want this palette. I don’t generally drop coin on Lancome but this really, really calls to me because it’s so wearable! Also, what’s your mascara, your lashes look AMAZING!

  5. I bought this and haven’t regretted it for a second! It’s a fabulous palette, one of the best of the year – glad to know you like it! I second @beautyjudy:disqus – what’s that mascara?

  6. Aleya Bamdad says

    What a great palette. It has just enough neutrals ans shimmers to get me hooked.

  7. I always love Palette, it looks simple for me but fabulous.

  8. How can you not love the colors! The soft ones make you feel like a princess. I love the darker shades though. I need this palette in my life, it’s kind of like the softer version of Naked!

  9. Onica {mommy factor} says

    I love the palettes too! It makes me looks pretty and my eyes look glow. I love all colors of yours!

  10. That is a beautifully simple palette, great for anyone who’d like to purchase it.

  11. I have been drooling over this palette but a lot of people were slapping it around, saying it wasn’t very pigmented, didn’t perform well on the eyes so I didn’t pull the trigger on it. But Your swatches look good and it certainly looks very nice in your eye looks. Maybe those who gave this palette iffy reviews were victims of mass hypnosis? lol

  12. Victoria Armijo says

    I absolutely love those color palette! I’m not the biggest makeup person, but those colors I can totally see myself wearing.

  13. This is an awesome palette. The darker colors like the purple are my favorite right now. There are so many great looks you can make with them.

  14. Even though the pigmentation isn’t the best, I still love the palette. I’ve gotten a lot of use from it. I’m considering taking this with me when I travel the next time since it’s so sturdy and I can do so many looks with it.

  15. FabZilla_Kath says

    I read mixed reviews of this palette. I like the neutral shades ‘tho

  16. I want this palette so much!

  17. this palette is SOOO nice

  18. I was thinking how much I loved Tenacity and then I saw you used it in your look- LOVE! Great minds think alike 😉 This palette is gorgeous.

  19. Karlyn Flores says

    I love this palette i love the colors. I want this

  20. rika agustini says

    I love Lancome and I’ve been using the brand for more than 7 years

  21. Ourfamilyworld says

    Lancome is a great brand. The shades are gorgeous. My daughter would love this palette.

  22. tiaras and tantrums says

    This looks like a great palette of colors. I like to wear neutrals so this would work well for me

  23. Great swatches, I thought I didn’t need this palette but now I want it hehe

  24. I have heard up and down reviews of this palette and I have been on the fence checking it out. The colors are gorgeous.

  25. amotherworld says

    Ooh I love this palette and Lancome products are so divine! Would love to try myself ha!

  26. Dhemz Apdian - Dias says

    I love all the palette. It’s very cute and neutral!
    http://www.gregdemcydias.com

  27. Natalie Peters says

    I have really been needing to update my makeup cache, and I love, love, LOVE the color selection in this kit!

  28. Wow, it looks great on your eye, totally gorgeous! Love all the shades on this one.

  29. I’m still on the fence about this palette, some of the colors are really pretty though.

  30. Lisa Marie Heath says

    I LOVE the look you created! What a pretty palette!

  31. I would really use some new eye shadows. great natural looking colors!

  32. that look you created really makes your blue eyes pop! Gorgeous shades.

  33. There are really pretty colors in there. I love them all! Perfect for the holidays.

  34. Those are so beautiful! I love the brush that comes with it as well.