LORAC Dream Girl Eye Shadow Palette: Review, Pics, Swatches!

2015-04-25 02.38.42 (480x295)

 

Press Sample

 

The LORAC Summer 2015 Collection is a stunner. The collection consists of two eyeshadow palettes, Heartbreaker and Dream girl, 18 lip glosses, and three bronzers. You can find the Dream girl palette, 16 of the 18 lip glosses, and all three bronzers on Lorac’s website and at Kohl’s. The Heartbreaker palette, all 18 lip glosses, and two of the bronzers can be found exclusively at Ulta.

Blythe reviewed The Heartbreaker palette and the accompanying lip glosses Heartbreaker and Dream Girl here. Until her review, I would have passed up both of these palettes. They just didn’t look very original or special to me. I am so glad I didn’t! I was able to try Dream Girl ($24), the warmer of the two eye shadow palettes. To be honest, though there is something for everyone in both palettes; the mix is spot on for created lots of different looks.

2015-04-25 02.40.40 (480x320)

The packaging is fun and girly: Dream Girl is a pretty peach and Heartbreaker is a Barbie pink. The packaging has a rubbery feel similar to NARS but these don’t seem to catch every stray fiber in the room like NARS packaging. The palette comes with a full size mirror and 10 eye shadows with a mix of matte and shimmer—heavy on the shimmer shades. No worries though, over 40 beauties, this is toned down even though some of the shades look a bit glittery in the pan, they don’t translate that way on older eyes. Trust.

2015-04-25 02.46.25 (480x320)

The shadows are pigmented, easy to blend and creamy. The formula is nice and you won’t find these kicking up powder. The colors are very pretty and will provide endless combinations of looks. I love the addition of the turquoisel blue and lavender to add interest, though I must say the shimmery gold, apricot, and bronze are definite favorites too. Those with blue or green eyes will fall head over stilettos for Dream Girl. These colors all work well together without being boring. The addition of the two highlighters is a bonus and well thought out—there is a warmer cream shade and a cooler icy pink.

2015-04-25 02.47.04 (480x292)

Shades from left to right:

 

  • Pale gold shimmer
  • Mid-brown satin
  • Apricot shimmer
  • Turquoise shimmer
  • Pale cream shimmer
  • Light copper shimmer
  • Medium Lavender shimmer
  • Sage green shimmer
  • Deep chocolate shimmer
  • Icy pink shimmer

2015-04-25 02.49.18 (480x320)

 

2015-04-25 02.50.43 (480x320)

For this look, I used the icy pink under the brow bone, the lavender on the lid and the bronze in the crease. Black liquid liner on top and a shimmery gray on the lower lash line. I like the combination.

2015-04-25 23.07.22 (480x134) (2)

2015-04-25 23.07.44 (480x149) (2)

I won’t talk much about the Dream Girl lip gloss since Blythe already covered that—I just gotta say- Love! I will warn you though, these apply thicker than what you are probably used it, so make sure to go easy and blot if necessary. I just adore this color for summer and love the way it feels on my lips!

2015-04-25 23.08.08 (480x320) (2)

 

Bottom Line: For something I was initially meh about, I’ve had such fun combining all these colors and playing with LORAC’s Dream Girl. I think this makes a perfect summer palette for warm days and cool nights, pool parties, backyard BBQ’s and dancing under the stars (does anyone really do that?)

From our partners

Comments

  1. the palettes really have my attention. I need a trip to Ulta.

  2. What a great summer palette!

  3. Beautiful palette and I just love the look you created! Gorgeous!

  4. the palettes really have my attention. I need a trip to Ulta.

  5. What a great summer palette!

  6. I love the lavender in the look you created! And that turquoise is SO fun.

  7. I love that bright turquoise!

  8. Beautiful palette and I just love the look you created! Gorgeous!

  9. I love the lavender in the look you created! And that turquoise is SO fun.

  10. Completely summery and darling! I like the combo you made.

  11. I love that bright turquoise!

  12. Lorac keeps upping their game. This is a great summer palette. I love the eye look you did, purple becomes you.

  13. These shadows look lovely on you. I really like Lorac shadows.

  14. Completely summery and darling! I like the combo you made.

  15. Lorac keeps upping their game. This is a great summer palette. I love the eye look you did, purple becomes you.

  16. These shadows look lovely on you. I really like Lorac shadows.

  17. That’s a stunning palette indeed! I like the eye makeup you created.

  18. That’s a stunning palette indeed! I like the eye makeup you created.

  19. What a pretty look on you! Those gold and copper shades are calling me!!

  20. This is a pretty palette. I love the turquoise shimmer shade. Very summery.

  21. Oh, I love these fun shades for summer… and you wear them so well!

  22. What a pretty look on you! Those gold and copper shades are calling me!!

  23. This is a pretty palette. I love the turquoise shimmer shade. Very summery.

  24. THis palette has been added to my wishlist! It’s so pretty!

  25. Oh, I love these fun shades for summer… and you wear them so well!

  26. THis palette has been added to my wishlist! It’s so pretty!

  27. These shades look so pretty!

  28. These shades look so pretty!

  29. Although I want to love it, as it has a gorgeous colors, I am having a difficult time with so much fall out from the glittery shades in the palette and not enough lasting power from my favorite shade in teal. Everytime I’ve applied the shadows have ended up all over my face making me glittery and staining my face, which is also difficult to get off. Is primer a must with lorac products? Perhaps best applied wet? The Matte shades didn’t last long on my skin, even as I was applying it seemed to fade quickly. Perhaps they are so blendable they fall off my eyes? Lastly, the larger bottom shades don’t show up on my fair skin. It doesn’t irritate my eyes but I just don’t think it is performing as it should. 🙁

  30. Although I want to love it, as it has a gorgeous colors, I am having a difficult time with so much fall out from the glittery shades in the palette and not enough lasting power from my favorite shade in teal. Everytime I’ve applied the shadows have ended up all over my face making me glittery and staining my face, which is also difficult to get off. Is primer a must with lorac products? Perhaps best applied wet? The Matte shades didn’t last long on my skin, even as I was applying it seemed to fade quickly. Perhaps they are so blendable they fall off my eyes? Lastly, the larger bottom shades don’t show up on my fair skin. It doesn’t irritate my eyes but I just don’t think it is performing as it should. 🙁