Milani Spring 2015 Collection: Review, Pics & Swatches!

Categories pages-EYES-01

Spring collections are starting to hit my mailbox and first up is Milani Fierce Foil Collection for Spring 2015. The Fierce Foil line offers four Eyeshine palettes ($9.99), four Fierce Foil Eyeliners and six Fierce Foil  Nail Lacquers.

 

Press Sample

2015-02-04 06.03.32 (480x320)

Fierce Foil Eyeshines ($9.99)

Milan – chic nudes and neutrals

Florence – molten gold, rose and bronze

Rome – lush lavenders and smoky purples

Venice – frosty white and ice-cool blues

Available in 4 shade quartettes named for Italy’s starriest, most beloved cities, the glosses mesmerize with special effects from translucent shimmers to rich opaque metallics. Get the shine, shine without the tackiness of a traditional eye gloss.”

2015-02-04 06.06.46 (480x320)

Although they appear to be powder shadows, they feel and apply like a cream. To me they almost feel like they are infused with gel–they are THAT creamy! I love the feel, but they ARE hard to apply to the lids. I tried to use my go-to cream eyeshadow brush from Tarte and couldn’t pick anything up on the brush–the shadow just kind of moved around the pan but did not adhere to the brush. Fingers worked better and actually, the foam applicator included in the palette worked the best. Who would have thunk? I NEVER use those crappy foam things!

I was sent Florence and it really is a golden girl’s dream. This is what I think of when I think of a Golden Goddess look; rich golds, bronze and coppers. These are also the best colors to make my blue eyes stand out. I found the white gold highlighter shade to be mostly glitter–it is in a transparent base so only the glitter really shows up. Not a fan. The bronze shade is much deeper in the pan than on the eyes–I tried to use it in the crease but it faded quickly. The rose and copper are the standouts in the quad. Both have a very shiny metallic finish and very nice pigmentation. I did not need an eyeshadow primer (remember I have old eyes, your mileage may vary), however around the 6-hour mark, the shadows had lost their shiny metallic finish which was disappointing.

2015-02-04 06.05.51 (480x480)

In talking with and reading other bloggers experience, I’ve gathered that each of the quads performs quite differently, so you may want to do some research before you purchase.

Fierce Foil Eyeliners ($6.99)

Black Gold Foil-gilded charcoal

Purple Foil – eggplant splased with lavender

Brown Foil – glistening, wet-sand taupe

Navy Foil– inky, moonlit-ocean blue

I’m loving the navy liner! It has the perfect consistency: hard in the pan, soft on the eyes. The liners come with a brush though I did not receive one. I used a slanted eyeliner brush and it worked beautifully. Navy foil is a rich blue with silver sparkle–but to too much sparkle. The lasting power on these is excellent, I went through several hand washings and a good cleaning with a makeup remover wipe and my swatches were still there. I definitely want to pick up the other shades!

2015-02-04 06.13.20 (480x429)

Fierce Foil Nail Lacquer ($3.99)

Milan– 24-karat dazzle drops

Florence – Sage meets seafoam

Capri – punchy petal pink

Rome– brushed orchid

Venice -sheer sapphire

Sardina– shimmery whitecap ivory

Milan is a rose gold glitter with gold flecks and a multidimensional high shine–very pretty! The line also included luminescent gold sparkles.

2015-02-05 04.46.06 (480x474)

 

Rose Powder Blush ($7.99)

Romantic Rose– elegant natural rose

Tea Rose– sweet rosy pink

Coral Cove– poppy coral

Inspired by the rose gardens of Milan, these have great pigmentation, are easy to blend and apply like a dream–a rose scented dream. They actually contain crushed rose petals that are micro-milled into the powder. Even tbough they have a matte finish, they are definitely not flat. The shades are not new but are now part of the permanent line-yay! I adore the pretty embossed rose design, even if mine came with a chunk out of it. Tea Rose is a pretty dusty pink that everyone can wear!

Milani Tea Rose

Milani Tea Rose

Color Statement Lipstick Moisture Matte ($4.99)

These do NOT feel drying like most matte lipsticks and do NOT emphasize lip lines either. Don’t know how Milani did it, but it’s the first time I’ve tried a matte lipstick that applied smoothly, wore for hours AND had a teeny bit of sheen. I love, love, love these, even though Matte Innocence makes me look like the walking dead. I really want to try some bolder colors.

Matte Innocence– soft whisper of pink

Matte Blissful – girly, blush pink

Matte Orchid – super flattering, complexion-friendly fuchsia

Matte Passion – fiery sunset orange-red

Matte Naked – your lips but better medium nude

Matte Diva – happy, poppy hot pink

Matte Glam – yummy, grape-Italian-ice purple

Matte Confident – bold, gutsy brick red

This is hands-down THE best matte lipstick EVER! Milani has the formula DOWN, whatever mojo they put into these lipsticks I want! There are two new additions to the line: Catwalk Pink and Power Pink. All Milani products are certified by PETA and The Leaping Bunny Program as cruelty-free.

Milani Matte Innocence Lipstick

Milani Matte Innocence Lipstick

That cutie Slashed Beauty has some great swatches of all the eyeshines and the lipsticks here.

Bottom Line: the Milani Spring 2015 has some hits and misses. Thankfully there are more hits than misses. The eyeshine quads were really the only miss for me. The stars of the collection are the eyeliners, blushes and lipsticks. Get to a Milani display and grab some things quick!! I knwo this collection will sell out fast and you HAVE to try the amazing lipsticks!! What are waiting for? GO!

From our partners

Comments

  1. I love the look of the Fierce Foil shadows but the reviews are kind of scaring me away. I think I need all of the liners, tho! And a new rose blush or two to add to my little hoard, because pretty.

  2. Yes, I too found out that the plastic applicator works best to apply the shadows. In fact, I wet mine first and tap on the shadow. But I love 3 of the 4 quads (I haven’t used the blue), and I find myself, the matte lover, wearing them quite often!

  3. I love the look of those shimmery shadows but not a fan of the wear-time and the creasing. That matte lippie on the other hand… want!

  4. I still want to try those eye shadows! Even if they look pretty for a couple hours I can’t resist!

  5. Yep. I think I need that shadow palette.

  6. I love the look of the Fierce Foil shadows but the reviews are kind of scaring me away. I think I need all of the liners, tho! And a new rose blush or two to add to my little hoard, because pretty.

  7. I’m loving the looks of the new Milani palettes. I need to get to the store and grab a couple of them.

  8. Yes, I too found out that the plastic applicator works best to apply the shadows. In fact, I wet mine first and tap on the shadow. But I love 3 of the 4 quads (I haven’t used the blue), and I find myself, the matte lover, wearing them quite often!

  9. I love the blush!

  10. Those milani blushers have been calling me ever since I’ve seen them.

  11. I love the look of those shimmery shadows but not a fan of the wear-time and the creasing. That matte lippie on the other hand… want!

  12. I still want to try those eye shadows! Even if they look pretty for a couple hours I can’t resist!

  13. Yep. I think I need that shadow palette.

  14. Jess Scull says

    The blushes are definitely a hit in this collection – I’m still exploring the shadows but they are very difficult to apply

  15. I’m loving the looks of the new Milani palettes. I need to get to the store and grab a couple of them.

  16. I love the blush!

  17. Those milani blushers have been calling me ever since I’ve seen them.

  18. Jess Scull says

    The blushes are definitely a hit in this collection – I’m still exploring the shadows but they are very difficult to apply

  19. I really want to get some of the eyeliners. I didn’t even know there were polishes with this release. That gold is gorgeous!

  20. I really want to get some of the eyeliners. I didn’t even know there were polishes with this release. That gold is gorgeous!

  21. The blush looks super pretty! And I love that flower print, too cute.

  22. The blush looks super pretty! And I love that flower print, too cute.

  23. I really love that blush. It has been my go to for weeks

  24. I really love that blush. It has been my go to for weeks

  25. I love those blushes!

  26. I love those blushes!