NARS Laser Cut Eye, Cheek and Lip Palette: Review, Pics, Swatches!

2014-11-30 05.54.51 (480x360)

Purchased by me

 

Hello beauties! I’ve been waiting and waiting to show you this fantastic palette from the NARS Laser Cut Collection.  The limited edition NARS Laser Cut Eye, Cheek and Lip Palette ($59) has me verklempt, especially after waiting to get it for soooo long. You see, I received it in this condition and didn’t even have a chance to try it out because it was so destroyed.  I had to reorder and wait for it to be shipped AGAIN! I am not a patient person when it comes to my makeup!!

IMG_1334 (360x480)

However, I will say it was worth the wait!  NARS Laser Cut Eye, Cheek and Lip Palette ($59) houses way more goodies that it appears to. Included in this very compact palette are:

  • 3 shades of Hardwired Eyeshadow, a new formulation in limited edition shades, created exclusively for the NARS Laced with Edge Holiday Collection
  • Day Dream Blush
  • Laguna Bronzing Powder
  • Dolce Vita Lip Gloss

The eyeshadows don’t have names, though NARS does describe them for us. Shade I is described as a neutral Nude Vanilla. This shade is matte and very close to my skin tone. It was a bit powdery but the pigment was still good. Shade II is described as a shimmering Cafe au Lait. It’s a metallic golden brown with luster. It also had a good color payoff and it wore for eight hours. This is lovely color for every skin tone and I didn’t experience any fallout but I ALWAYS wear an eyeshadow primer. Shade III is described as a matte Army Green. That is a fairly apt description, but to my eye, it also has a lot of grey in it and a slightly warm undertone. The texture and pigment was good.

2014-11-30 05.57.25 (480x360)

The colors by themselves are not that unique or original, but that is where NARS differs from most brands–the colors they choose to combine ARE unusual. I for one, would never think to even make an Army Green eyeshadow much less pair it with a shimmery golden brown. NARS knows better than I because these three shades blend beautifully together. For this look I took the traditional road and applied the Nude Vanilla on the brow bone, the Cafe au Lait on the lid and Army Green in the crease. It makes for a subtle, polished eye with interest. I’ll also wear switch it up and wear Army Green on the lid and Cafe au Lait in the crease. I think Army Green would make a lovely eyeliner shade too!

2014-12-04 06.49.48 (427x480)

The Hardwired eyeshadows are a new formula though I don’t see much difference between them and the regular line.

Day Dream blush what I wanted Orgasm to be waaay back when. It a lovely pinky-peach with a satin finish. It does has a warm undertone (why I like it so much). I love the satin finish as opposed to the glitter-fest of Orgasm. Day Dream is quite pigmented so if you are fair, go easy with your brush. This is not new like the eyeshadows, it was released last year.

Some of you may be tired of seeing Laguna Bronzer in nearly every NARS palette, but there are very few bronzers that don’t make my face look muddy so I don’t mind. I prefer matte bronzers and Laguna is great for us pale girls.

2014-11-30 05.57.03 (480x360)

 

2014-12-04 06.52.29 (480x360)

The iconic Dolce Vita lip gloss makes an appearance in this palette as well and I am delighted. I haven’t worn this shade in years and am so happy to be reunited with my old friend! NARS describes it as a sheer dusty rose but it is NOT sheer at all; in fact, it is very opaque and quite pigmented. I’m thinking the original had more brown in it giving it a dusty hue. This new version seems brighter to me and more pink to me which I like better. It has a creamy non-sticky texture and lasts for about 4-5 hours which I think is fabulous!

2014-12-04 06.53.37 (211x480)

2014-11-30 05.56.54 (480x421)

The packaging is a lightweight but sturdy double-decker compact. The upper layer contains the eyeshadows, the lower level blush and bronzer and the lipgloss spans both. The intricate laser cut design on the outside of the palette reminds me of lacey ice crystals in the wintertime. It’s both delicate and edgy which is a good representation of what the NARS brand.

Overall I’m loving NARS Laser Cut Eye, Cheek and Lip Palette. The shades are very wearable (even if they do lean warm) and the while the combination may look boring in the pan, I love the way it translates to the skin. Day Dream blush is a real winner and I love what NARS has done with the Dolce Vita gloss.

2014-11-30 00.56.29 (462x480)

Bottom Line: a lot of NARS goodness in a well thought out, versatile compact palette! Add mascara and you’re good to go. This is limited edition so grab it quick!

Have you tried anything from the NARS Laser Cut Collection? Do tell!

From our partners

Comments

  1. Oh my! I’m happy you were able to receive a new one. I love the palette though.

  2. This is so awesome! Looking lovely as usual.

  3. It’s such a beautiful palette.

  4. These shades are lovely on you. I want Daydream blush. In fact, I wouldn’t mind having the palette… #wantallthenars

  5. Jess Scull says

    OMG how did I miss this?!?!? It looks beautiful!

  6. The gasp created when opening a palette and it’s crumbled!!! You look awesome with these shades. I love them too.

  7. First I NEED this! Second YOU LOOK SOOOOOOO Beautiful Cindy! I love the shades on you. Simply perfection!

  8. Omg i hope you got your money back for the first palette!

  9. Love that army green! What a handy little palette. I would have been devastated, too, to see it arrive in such a state. Their customer service seems so slow, though…I still can’t get anyone to return my emails or messages on their social media, either.

  10. betzy carmona says

    I have last years edition ! & I don’t use it because it’s one of the only nars items I own

  11. The green shadow really gets my attention big time, and I love the color of the lip gloss. I just bought the Laura Mercier portable palette for just $4 less, and though I like the shades in it (except for the gloss), the amount of eye shadow (there were 4 shades) but they’re tiny compared to the size of these. Very nice palette!

  12. This is a great holiday palette but it’s the statement neckpiece that stole the show 🙂

  13. That is a very cool little palette and I’m glad you got a fresh one in the end.

  14. I love your necklace. This seems like a great deal – I’d like to wear all of the colors.

  15. Oh my gosh! So pretty. I think I am in love with it.

  16. I love your whole look here- the makeup and the necklace. Gorgeous!

  17. Why the heck did I read this? And not once, but I’ve come back four times. I have to get this palette. ADORE that green!!

  18. What a well thought out set! Looks great on you too

Trackbacks

  1. […] Beauty – Prime Beauty reviews the often overlooked NARS Laser Cut Lip and Cheek Palette. Is it truly buzz worthy? Find […]

  2. […] Beauty – Prime Beauty reviews the often overlooked NARS Laser Cut Lip and Cheek Palette. Is it truly buzz worthy? Find […]

  3. […] Beauty – Prime Beauty reviews the often overlooked NARS Laser Cut Lip and Cheek Palette. Is it truly buzz worthy? Find […]

  4. […] Beauty – Prime Beauty reviews the often overlooked NARS Laser Cut Lip and Cheek Palette. Is it truly buzz worthy? Find […]