Smashbox On the Rocks Holiday Photo Op Eye Shadow Palette Review

2014-09-14 01.28.39 (480x360)by Blythe A.
Press Sample

 

When Cindy asked me to review the Smashbox On the Rocks Photo Op Eye Shadow Palette $36, I was beyond excited. Okay, I confess, I did a little happy dance in my room. As a huge fan of Smashbox, I’ve been buying their products since the 90s, I couldn’t wait to try this new palette.

I fell in love with their Full Exposure Eye Shadow Palette, which I purchased earlier this year, and was fully prepared to fall in love with the On the Rocks palette as well. On the Rocks is exclusively available at Ulta and ulta.com.

Before we dive into the review of the eye shadows, I must talk about the packaging, which is gorgeous. This limited edition square-shaped palette contains 12 eye shadows packaged in a hard black plastic case, with the Smashbox logo and jewels printed on the front. One of the coolest features of the cover is the way the light reflects off the jewels, which seems to sparkle and shine like a rainbow.

2014-09-14 02.23.06 (480x360)

When I opened the palette, I was excited to see a nice, full-size mirror, perfect for applying your shadow at home, or on-the-go. In the center of the palette is a plastic jewel, or rock, which isn’t really necessary, but definitely plays up the theme of the collection. A removable plastic sheet helps to protect the mirror and lists the names of each shadow. The palette also comes with a look brochure that provides details on three different looks you can create. (I used these looks to review the palette).

2014-09-14 02.23.54 (480x360)

At first glance, I was mesmerized by the bejeweled colors of the shadows, and couldn’t wait to try each and every shade. The palette comes with 12 shadows, two of which are matte, while the remaining ten are shimmer/glitter.

  • Opus – a light pink matte
  • Vanilla – a crème/beige matte
  • Blacktop – very intense black shadow with glitter
  • Coronation – amethyst with glitter
  • Nutmeg – shimmery gold
  • Chianti – a deep purplish brown with pink glitter
  • Sapphires – a rich blue with blue glitter
  • Confectionette – a pale gold shadow, lighter and less intense than Nutmeg
  • Mist – a pale silver shimmer shadow
  • Bourbon – a dark brown shadow with glitter
  • Midnight Emerald – a very shimmery emerald green with gold glitter
  • Obsidian – a gunmetal shimmer shadow with multi-colored glitter
Blacktop, Opus & Coronation

Blacktop, Opus & Coronation

Vanilla, Nutmeg & Sapphires

Vanilla, Nutmeg & Sapphires

Chianti, Confectionette & Bourbon

Chianti, Confectionette & Bourbon

Midnight Emerald, Mist & Obsidian

Midnight Emerald, Mist & Obsidian

The shadows are highly pigmented designed to be velvety and super blendable. While the shadows are definitely pigmented and velvety, I didn’t find most of them to be very blendable at all.

I tried out the Midnight Soiree look and found it very difficult to get Chianti to blend on my lid. Even though I used a primer, the shadow seemed to skip over any part of my lid that was looser, and even made my eye wrinkly. Not exactly what I want my eye shadow to do. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get it to blend nicely.

Next I applied Opus to my brow bone, which went on a lot smoother, but still looked a bit powdery. As instructed, I followed that up with Nutmeg in my crease. It also didn’t blend out or together very well with Chianti. Finally, I finished up the look by lining the upper and lower lash line with Blacktop.

2014-09-14 02.24.06 (480x360)

Again, it didn’t really apply well, nor blend out. I also felt like Blacktop wasn’t a good match to the other shadows of look, but that might just a personal opinion. It also had a lot of fall out, which doesn’t bother me as much since darker shades seem to do that sometimes. I was also hoping the glitter in Blacktop would show up and add a little luxe bejeweled sparkle to my eyes, but it failed to do so. However, I will say that is one of the most intense black shadows I have ever used.

The same issues applied when I tried to create Emerald Smoke and Gold Rush from the look book. I had difficulty getting the shadows to apply smoothly and blend. While they are very pigmented, and feel light on the eye, I really wasn’t happy with any of the looks. Nor was my dog, she looked at me like there was something just off about mommy. LOL.

Bottom Line: I think Smashbox On the Rocks Photo Op Eye Shadow Palette is a great value for $36. It does allow you to create a variety of looks, especially if you really like intense colors. The palette is also travel-friendly, which is great for all those holiday getaways and parties. While I do think the shadows are long lasting and velvety, I do wish they were a bit more blendable.

From our partners

Comments

  1. Sorry to hear that it disappointed you. The shades look so great in your swatches. Strange that they are so hard to blend.

  2. Midnight emerald is gorgeous.. But a shadow just isn’t going to work for me if it’s too much work to use! That’s a shame that blending was such an issue.

  3. Coronation and Nutmeg are beautiful!

  4. Sorry to hear that it disappointed you. The shades look so great in your swatches. Strange that they are so hard to blend.

  5. Midnight emerald is gorgeous.. But a shadow just isn’t going to work for me if it’s too much work to use! That’s a shame that blending was such an issue.

  6. Jess Scull says

    Holy gorgeous! Great review & swatches

  7. Coronation and Nutmeg are beautiful!

  8. Jess Scull says

    Holy gorgeous! Great review & swatches

  9. This is a great value – I’m loving these colors!

  10. I love the colors…. but if it takes too much to apply and blend, they colors will never be worth it.

  11. the colors look really nice, definitely a great value.

  12. This is a great value – I’m loving these colors!

  13. I love the colors…. but if it takes too much to apply and blend, they colors will never be worth it.

  14. the colors look really nice, definitely a great value.

  15. The look pretty – but I may skip if they don’t blend too easy

  16. The look pretty – but I may skip if they don’t blend too easy

  17. I was so surprised by how hard it was to blend theses shadows. The current lots are gorgeous though.

  18. I was so surprised by how hard it was to blend theses shadows. The current lots are gorgeous though.

  19. Such a pretty palette!

  20. betzy carmona says

    Although the colors are pretty it’s a bummer how they are hard to work with

  21. Such a pretty palette!

  22. betzy carmona says

    Although the colors are pretty it’s a bummer how they are hard to work with

  23. I have the larger palette and told myself that the two are probably so similar I don’t need this one. Turns out, it’s gorgeous with some must-have shades! Nutmeg and Midnight Emerald are beautiful!

  24. I have the larger palette and told myself that the two are probably so similar I don’t need this one. Turns out, it’s gorgeous with some must-have shades! Nutmeg and Midnight Emerald are beautiful!

  25. Chianti is such a stand out!

  26. Chianti is such a stand out!